Expecting A Miracle (Barf!)

The mountains of clean laundry to be folded and stowed were beginning to suffocate me, so I flipped on the TV while I worked in the bedroom.

The first program that came up was a movie called Expecting A Miracle, starring Jason Priestly. The movie sucked me in before I realized it was about infertility. I changed the channel, pronto, but for some reason, the movie kept pulling me back.

The story: Rather than pay for yet another round of IVF, an infertile couple decides to use their remaining IVF savings for a needy little boy’s health care. A few weeks later, POOF, they’re pregnant. Cut to the closing credits.

See, they just relaxed, and it happened! Like magic. Because they DESERVED it for being selfless.

Well, Mr. Movie Producer, I would like to inform you that:

1. Whether or not a woman gets pregnant has NOTHING to do with how relaxed she is.
2. As much as I really, really wish it were so, Being A Good Person doesn’t help you, either.
3. Just because a previously infertile woman gets a positive result on an HPT does not mean her infertility journey is suddenly over.
4. The nobility of making an after-school-special-style movie about infertility is negated when you oversimplify the topic.

That is all! ❤

5 thoughts on “Expecting A Miracle (Barf!)

  1. Ooh, how I hate films with infertility related themes that just sneak up on us without warning. I think all films should be prefaced with some kind of a warning: “The following film contains some adult humour, nudity and a warped storyline that misrepresents fertility issues”. P.s. I love your blog, thanks for sharing your journey.

    • Yes, some sort of warning would be great! One of our favorite shows, Justified, displays a warning after every single commercial…. why not infertility movies??

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting. 🙂

  2. Barf is right! I”m glad that I didn’t run into that movie. I hope it feels good to get some stuff done around the house.
    Also, your cats are adorable! I’m new to your blog and enjoyed seeing the photos. 🙂 I also have 3 cats.

    • Thanks for the comment and the follow! Glad to hear of another 3-cat household. 🙂

      I took a quick spin through your blog and I’m sorry to hear of the troubles you’ve endured. I hope that blogging helps you find the same kind of peace and community that I have.

Leave a Reply

